

Club History

Greenwich Yacht Club was founded by Thames Watermen and river workers on the 12th March 1908.

For many years the Clubhouse was situated on the beach adjacent to the current clubhouse. Originally, it was a beached Thames Sailing Barge "Iverna", then later a hut on the Mudlarks Way beach (see pictures in the club bar). In more recent times we were based in what is now referred to as the "old clubhouse" at the end of River Way near The Pilot pub. The premises were then acquired by English Partnerships to form part of the site for the Millennium Dome. English Partnerships provided the club with new facilities on the then redundant Peartree Wharf.

Greenwich Yacht Club took possession of the site early in November 1999 with temporary clubrooms in what is now the landside function rooms and this was where we celebrated the Millennium. We finally moved across to our splendid clubhouse standing on the Thames, in June 2000.

Today our club is one of the most successful yacht clubs on the Thames with more than 400 members. We are an official RYA Training Centre offering shore based and practical courses. The club has a strong contingent of active cruising yachts, dinghies, rowing cutters and motorboats. Our annual cruise to the East Coast of England is one of the biggest sailing events in our calendar. Throughout the year the club organises and competes in a many different races on the Thames for dinghies, yachts, and our rowers. Our riverside function rooms are a sought-after venue for weddings, conferences, events and parties – booked months in advance. The club has diverse social events all year round. We have activities open to the wider community such as our 'Open House' and RYA 'Push the Boat Out' events.

Years	Commodore
1908 - 1934	G. Bull
1935 - 1939	G. Doman
1940 - 1951	W.A. Palmer
1952 - 1952	W.H. Wilby
1953 - 1956	J.D. Kerr
1957 - 1958	G.W. Pace
1959 - 1961	W.H. Wilby
1962 - 1962	J.D. Kerr
1963 - 1964	G.W. Pace
1964 1965	G.E Blaber
1966 - 1968	J.D. Kerr
1969 - 1971	D.B. Everett
1972 - 1974	R.A.
	Destercroix
1975 - 1975	R. Comber

Comodores - past and present



Years	Commodore
1976 - 1977	D.B. Everett
1978 - 1980	H. Fletcher
1981 - 1983	J. Shiel
1984 - 1986	R.E. Carter
1987 - 1989	A.J. Roberts
1990 - 1991	D.A. Mannion
1992 - 1994	S.F. Payne
1995 - 1995	D. Palmer
1996 - 1998	J. Bayley
1999 - 2001	N. Crawford
2002 - 2004	J.P. Catchpole
2005 - 2005	R.C. Baker
2006 - 2008	F. Lerner
2009 - 2011	D. Duane
2012 - 2014	L. Willis
2015 - 2017	S. Wilson
2017 - 2018	L. Willis
2018 - Present	N. Day